Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Current Event 2/5/16 - Andrew Abbott

http://fortune.com/2015/08/06/super-bowl-ad-cost/

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-31064972

Questions:
-Would you be willing to pay for the game if there were no commercials? How much would you pay? Why or why not?
-How would the experience of watching the Super Bowl change if there were no commercials?
-Do you think the money spent by the companies is worth the publicity they receive?

3 comments:

  1. -I would be willing to pay $30 for the game even if there were no commercials. However, with that being said, I would only pay if a team I was interested in was playing or if it was a good match up.
    -The experience would change through having little other entertainment, especially for people who only watch the Super Bowl for the commercials. Also, that would mean there would be no breaks in between quarters which may tire people with the game being 3+ hours. For people who typically watch football, having no commercials may have little affect on their enjoyment.
    - I do not really think the money spent by the companies is worth the publicity as, especially for me, these commercials do not really influence me to buy products; I will only buy products that I normally buy or like. However, for some people, it may influence their decisions so it may have some worth in it. However, some of these commercials are very memorable and people may continue to talk about memorable commercials in future Super Bowls, if that is what a company's goal is.

    ReplyDelete
  2. - To be honest, I don't think that I would be willing to pay to watch the game, but that is only because I don't really watch football. Like if it was a basketball game, I would be willing to pay. Also because the super bowl makes a lot of money because a one minute commercial is $9 million, then the people would be have to pay that money off.
    - Personally, it would not change that much for me because I only watch the super bowl for the half-time performance, so commercials make no difference to me. For other people, there would be no breaks in the game or entertainment for them. It would be very boring watching the team during their breaks/time outs instead of watching a commercial. I don't think anybody would be willing to watch hours of football straight without any entertainment.
    - I actually think that they money they spend may possibly work out for them. I think last super bowl about 100+ million people watched it, and that is a lot of publicity for the companies. But the thing is that they have to make the commercials memorable, so that people will be interested in them.

    ReplyDelete
  3. - -To be completely honest I would not pay for a game without commercials because even thought they are annoying they are not that long. And I do not want to spend my money to get rid of 3 min advertisements
    - -If there wasn't any commercials during the Super bowl we would just be watching the players during the time-outs. The commercials are there to substitute the moments the players are not doing anything, and for advertisement. It is not like the commercials are replacing some parts of the game.
    - - I absolutely believe that the companies that invest their money into the commercials during the commercial are getting their money's worth. Because statistic overtime constantly show that that advertisement shown of the product give high sales after the Super Bowl, and plus some people actually look forward to the commercials because the companies make them really compelling towards their product.

    ReplyDelete

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.